Why Asian Adoptees Need to Give a Shit about #BlackLivesMatter


I don’t remember the first time someone told me I was White. But I definitely remember the last. It was the summer of my junior year in college and I was a new student orientation leader. My university was diverse but mostly segregated, and this staff was about half White and half Black – plus me.

Sourced through Scoop.it from: transracialeyes.com

Tensions became apparent early on: miscommunications, presumptions, an offensive skit impersonation. I remember feeling unsettled about how I was situated in all of this. After one of the meetings where things got heated, Sheri, one my Black colleagues, rolled her eyes at me and said, C’mon, Amy, you’re basically White.
I was pretty butt-hurt. With that one assertion, it felt like Sheri tried to erase all the times I was called Chink on the playground or was fetishized by horny White dudes. I wasn’t White. The world definitely doesn’t see me as White. But I wasn’t Black either. The violent history of anti-Blackness in the US was not something I felt like I could fully relate to.
Sheri said that to me ten years ago but it resonates with me more than ever. Police brutality and the devaluation of Black and Brown bodies is nothing new, but it grows increasingly clear that we are at a critical point right now, a new civil rights movement. And yet, anti-Blackness is a concept still largely unexplored by transracial Asian adoptees. From reading coded indignation about not wanting to play the race card like that group on adoptee forums, to hearing n*gger during a Korean culture camp skit this summer, I have generally witnessed silence from our adopted community in both live and online spaces as our Black brothers and sisters continue to fight for their lives to matter.
The short answer to this post’s title is: because it’s simply the right fucking thing to do.

See on Scoop.itParental Responsibility

About towardchange

Your ‘Family Rights’ believing in the best interest of children. The issues which are important to me are, children and their families, the injustices to parents, which may occur, because of inadequate information, mistakes or corruption. This is happening every day. every minute and every second. For years I have campaigned for the rights of children and their voices to be heard.
This entry was posted in Family Law. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

